Posted in adventure, caves, landscapes, mountains, national parks, photography, quotes, travel, Uncategorized, Utah

Spectacular Arches National Park

“If you can find a path with no obstacles, it probably doesn’t lead anywhere.” ~ Frank A. Clark

Arches National Park, located approximately 7 miles north of Moab, in the high desert country of Utah, contains the largest known concentration of natural stone arches in the world.

Established in 1929 as a National Monument, and gained National Park status on November 12, 1971, the Park encompasses some 77,379 acres and contains more than 2000 natural arches. With its very distinctive rock formations, Arches national Park is one of the most unique and exotic place to visit in the US.

I was lucky enough to get the chance to visit this incredibly breath-taking place twice and hope to visit again in the future. The entrance of the park has a dramatic feeling of Jurassic park. It is located only 5 mi (8 km) north of Moab, along Hwy 191.

Image

I was awestruck by the innumerable rock formations towering different levels. I could only marvel at the landscape of contrasting colors, landforms and textures. The rock layers reveal millions of years of deposition, erosion and other geologic events.

We drove along the scenic park highway which is 18 miles long and connects all the major viewpoints and trailheads within the park. Throughout the journey my camera clicked nonstop as the multitude of red rocks posed in front of me in different forms all along the way. The park is filled with enough fins, spires, hoodoos, towers, arches, windows, and other “miracles of nature” to keep your jaw dropping all day. I didn’t want to miss a single moment of the trip.

The first point we stopped at was Park Avenue and Courthouse Towers – monolithic spires and ridges of rock standing isolated in largely flat terrain. The first visitors said they were reminded of the famous Park Avenue of New York. All of the distinctive arches and formations in the park have earned names befitting their shape, including Courthouse Towers, Window Arch, Skyline Arch, Balanced Rock and the infamous Delicate Arch whose image adorns the Utah license plates.

ImageOur next stop was at the Balanced rock, a mammoth boulder balanced precariously on a pedestal. There is a very short hiking trail to the base of this 128-foot tall fragile formation.

Image

From Balanced Rock, a paved road leads to the Windows Section of the Park. This area features the Cove of Caves, Parade of Elephants, Turret Arch, the North and South Window Arches, and the fabulous Double Arch. While the arches are visible from the road, they are best viewed from the short walking trails leading from the parking areas.

Image

The delicate arch is the most famous of all in this park and it is the iconic symbol found on just about every book, brochure, and guide ever written about Arches National Park.  On my first trip, last December, I and my husband hiked through the 3 miles round trip trail though at that time I was suffering from severe back pain. I believe the excitement of the moment helped me to get through it all when I think about it now. There is no shade which makes the hike difficult in summer and so all are advised to take at least a liter of water with them.I also suffer from height phobia but I managed to climb through the slickrocks and gravel paths enjoying the terrific views below.

ImageStopping to rest in between the hike..

Image

The first half-mile is a wide, well-defined trail. We followed the marks of the trail all along. But as we reached the top the path was very snowy and narrow and I was gripped by sudden fear of height. I screamed at my husband for taking me there but quickly calmed down and decided to continue.

It was a real challenge for me to go through the narrow snowy path by the side of the cliff which is just about 200 yards.

Image

The arch is not visible till the last step but the very first view of it is truly spectacular. It leaves a strong impact on you which make the hike worthwhile.

Image

The breathtaking view of the arch erased away my fear of height and I started enjoying the grandness of this iconic structure.

The immense size of Delicate Arch is not immediately noticeable; it only becomes apparent when someone walks closer to the formation. The view of the La Sal Mountains as the backdrop adds majesty to the scene.

Image

There is a shorter Delicate Arch Viewpoint Trail for those who can’t make the longer hike but from that trail you can only see the arch from across the canyon. However, the true grandeur of the delicate arch can only be appreciated by standing right under the massive arch.

From the Delicate Arch turnoff, the Park road travels past Fiery Furnace and Skyline Arch to end at the Devils Garden trailhead.  The devil’s garden trail is the second most popular destination in the Arches.

We could not make to this part of the park due to time restrictions but hope to make it some other time in the future.

The hundreds of photos that I clicked there help me relive the enchanting moment and brings back the desire to go back again.

40 thoughts on “Spectacular Arches National Park

  1. So jealous you got to go! I went to a couple national parks in Utah on my recent road trip but this one was too out of the way. Definitely on my bucket list, especially after seeing your pictures! 🙂

  2. Wonderful photos, taking me right into its heart and even tasting the snowy desert air. Reminds me a little of my visit to Canyonlands – big wild purity country. Thank you for following my blog. We keep in touch through these landscapes. Look forward to explore more of yours. x

  3. Hi Pahari,
    Thanks for your interest in my blog. Clearly, your journey of discovery has parallels with my exploration of personal creativity, so it’s interesting to meet you and share stories. Visit again when you have time and happy exploring!

    1. Thanks Amaya Ellman. I loved both your blogs and of course will visit them regularly as i find something of me in them too. some feelings which perhaps are untold and unknown to me seems to find expressions through you.It is both inspiring as well as interesting.

  4. Thank you for visiting my blog and liking “It’s Never Too Late”. I hope you stop by again soon.
    You have fabulous images posted above. I especially love the first image – the angle is fabulous! So glad I was able to see it!

  5. Great photos! Arches is an awesome place! Hope you were also able to visit Canyonlands.
    We also had one of those rare opportunities to get a photo of my hubby and I at Delicate Arch with no one else in the photo.

  6. It has been over ten years since I saw Arches, and we are headed there again at the end of this week. Thanks for the preview! I love the angle of your first photo.

Leave a Reply

