Posted in adventure, art, autumn, birds, entertainment, fall colors, inspiration, lakes, morning walk, motivation, personal, photography, quotes, random thoughts, reading, self help, writing

My first lonely morning walk

John Muir rightly said “In every walk with nature one receives far more than he seeks.”

Never did I venture out alone during my 3 yrs stay in the US. I was always accompanied by someone in my evening or morning walks. It’s not because I was scared or something but it just happened to be so. Earlier, when we lived in Chicago, 2 years back, I happened to meet a lady with whom I became friends and together we used to plan our outings after hubby left for work. Then, when we moved to Minnesota, for a while I had stopped my exercises due to my back pain and soon became sickly. Hubby decided to motivate me to walk again and joined me in my evening hikes. He would drive me to different lakes near our home   (after all Minnesota is a land of 10,000 lakes) and then after parking the car we would walk round the lake. But that didn’t last long as he often had to come late from office. So my walks stopped again.

But after many a distressful shopping blunders, the realization daunted on me that I need to do something of my ever growing potbelly. So, I decided to take advantage of the good weather and start my morning walks after hubby left for work. So, bidding him adieu, the other day and armed with a water bottle and my Samsung galaxy, I stepped out of my cozy den. I could feel the fresh air against my face after being inside the warm heated apartment. A cool breeze was blowing and I was glad I wore the thicker sweatshirt. You don’t know the outside temperature unless you step out and very often I had suffered because of my miscalculations.

I felt confident and happy to have taken the decision and with a hidden smile on my face I took the familiar path round the lake just behind my apartment. There is a small wood at the very entrance of the path where I often went with hubby to click photos.

But today was slightly different as I was alone. I was expecting more people to be running and jogging but perhaps I was one of those few who stayed at home while others rushed to work at that hour. However, I started my walk speeding up my pace and slowing down in between not to get tired. As I reached the densest part of the wood, some creepy feelings disturbed me thanks to the horror movies and thriller serials that I was addicted to. As I approached a fork, I heard voices and saw two men approaching. All the weird and crazy images from the Criminal minds serial came into my mind and I even had visions of my battered lifeless body lying amidst a huge pile of fallen autumn leaves. I held tight to my phone and water bottle in case I needed them. Unaware of my thoughts, the two men walked past me as they chatted away with each other. I caught my normal breath only when the men disappeared in the opposite direction.

From then on I relaxed and decided not to listen to my thoughts and enjoy the scene along the way. I realized that Fall was not yet over and there were colorful trees all around. I took out my Samsung and started clicking photos. Seeing me do that, a cyclist stopped to comment on the view. This time fortunately my mind was cleared off of all the thriller scenes and happily responded to him. I even clicked a photo of him riding away which made a great picture.

I continued my solitary walk and was just halfway through when I heard a gagling noise overhead. Through the leaves of the trees, I saw a flight of migratory birds in a skein. I was so mystified and fascinated by this aerial spectacle that I forgot to click and by the time I could, they were out of range. I was almost depressed when suddenly I could hear them again and this time I didn’t want to let go the chance and quickly got a few pictures. I felt as if they heard my sadness and returned to make me happy. I felt so thankful to them.

Happy at my accomplishment I continued my journey enjoying everything I saw.

A man was cleaning away the fallen leaves.

The bushes along the roadside seemed to fire up.

I was tempted to rest for a while on the bench when I saw the following sign. It seemed to indicate that if you want that size then go ahead and sit. I felt a kind of sarcasm on whoever had made that drawing but also felt thankful and my desire to rest vanished immediately.

It was a 3 ½ miles walk round the lake and at first I was doubtful of completing it. But I didn’t realize how time flew as I was busy clicking pictures all through my hike.It seemed even nature around me was inspiring me to go on.

As I approached the end of my walk, I felt a kind of victory of having accomplished something. Yes, my first solitary walk and I enjoyed it to the full.

‘The sum of the whole is this: walk and be happy; walk and be healthy. The best way to lengthen out our days is to walk steadily and with a purpose.’ Charles Dickens

37 thoughts on “My first lonely morning walk

  1. WOW!… What colour and beauty you captured and congratulations on your achievement in walking and taking photo’s on your first solo walk…
    Walking alone can often be daunting, but I do love walking in woods, as I listen to Nature and enjoy the peace.

    Thank you so much for sharing,,, I was transported into Autumns Gold..

  2. I love Charles Dickens! I walk every day along the Vancouver Seawall. I take my iPod with me for company- not for music, but for listening to books. My most favourite is when I listen to poetry! Your photos reminded me of the walkways that I take. You are on an amazing adventure.

      1. Interesting point! What I have found is that I now prefer to walk alone – it gives me time to pause for a moment before moving on. I must admit that I think twice about going out on a rainy day…but that is why we have umbrellas! 🙂

  3. wow wow wowow i was saying at each pic and that bird one is soooperrrrrrrrrrrrr and the squirrel too .. OH god I cant choose which one is goood they are so very beautiful 🙂

    please go for such a walk each day and post 🙂

  4. I very much enjoyed the story of your walk. So often we go out and have an adventure that occurs largely inside. Your words and pictures capture this very well! Thanks for sharing.
    Celia

  5. Could not help reading the Frost poem after going through your post.
    “Oh, I kept the first for another day!
    Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
    I doubted if I should ever come back.

    I shall be telling this with a sigh
    Somewhere ages and ages hence:
    Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–
    I took the one less traveled by,
    And that has made all the difference.”

    Amazing pictures ! Loved every single one them 🙂

  6. What a lovely post. And such beautiful colours – makes me really miss Autumn. I shall have to visit your photos for an autumn/winter fix.

  7. It is amazing, how we encounter different blogs that we don’t expect to see… like the pictures that you found in your walk around the lake, so I got up in the middle of the night, looking for an answer to pain, and discovered your beautiful blog… and this beautiful post, which reminded me so very much of my own life, across the planet from you. There is so much to see. There is so much to hear. Only the cold doesn’t reach me… but I can well imagine it.

    1. That’s a touching comment. Thank you very much for all the appreciation. I fully agree with you that through my blog I have been able to communicate and travel all through the world and also share my feelings and others too. I too seek solace in these blogs from my mundane life and escape the stress of life by reading these blogs. I find people going through similar situations and thus feel companionship in them, though virtually. That does help a lot. I am glad you liked my posts and found something to enjoy in them Thank you very much.

Leave a Reply

